Headshot of Professor Gloria Browne-Marshall
Professor Gloria J. Browne-Marshall Receives American Bar Association Silver Gavel Award

Gloria J. Browne-Marshall, Professor of Constitutional Law and Africana Studies, was honored with a Silver Gavel Award from the American Bar Association for Your Democracy, an animated series about the U.S. Constitution that she writes and hosts. The program, which explores topics like criminal justice, freedom of the press, citizenship, voting rights, immigration and states' rights, also won a 2023 Emmy Award. Click here to watch Your Democracy.

Browne-Marshall is a civil rights attorney, playwright and the author of She Took Justice: The Black Woman, Law, and Power, The Voting Rights War: The NAACP and the Ongoing Struggle for Justice, The Constitution: Major Cases and Conflicts and Race, Law, and American Society: 1607 to Present, among others. Her plays include Dreams of Emmett Till, which was made into a film and won an American Film Award. Browne-Marshall’s screenplay “Sgt. Freeman” was a finalist and official selection at national and international film festivals. She is working She Took Justice, a companion to the book by the same name.

Browne-Marshall's legal background includes clerkships at the Eastern District of Pennsylvania and Philadelphia Court of Common Pleas, litigation with Southern Poverty Law Center, Community Legal Services in Philadelphia and the NAACP Legal Defense Fund. She is also a legal commentator who covers the U.S. Supreme Court and major cases for outlets including CNN, NPR, BBC, MSNBC and CBS and the producer/host of Law of the Land, a weekly radio show and podcast. 

Browne-Marshall has received several honors, including the Ida B. Wells-Barnett Justice Award and the Wiley College Women of Excellence in Law Award. She is a fellow of the American Bar Association and member of the bar of the Supreme Court, the Dramatist Guild, Mystery Writers of America, National Association of Black Journalists, PEN American Center, Society of Professional Journalists, the American Bar Association, Authors Guild, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, the National Bar Association and the National Press Club.