Department of Public Safety

Department of Public Safety

MISSION STATEMENT: To improve student success by safeguarding and protecting all persons and property within the college’s diverse community.

The Department of Public Safety is committed to the safety and security of each student, faculty member, staff employee and visitor at John Jay College. The Department strives to provide a high level of customer service that shows courtesy and respect for each individual and supports the educational mission of the college.

Public safety image

 

 

The Department of Public Safety is offering CPR/AED and First Aid training to the John Jay College Community.

If you are nterested in attending, please e-mail publicsafetytrainings@jjay.cuny.edu and you will receive a response with the next scheduled date(s).

Classes will be filled on a first come, first serve basis. There will be a $20.00 fee to cover the materials and certificates for the first class. The second class is an additional $10.00. If you attend an all-day training (both CPR/AED and First Aid), the cost is $30.00 for the day. The fee must be paid to the Bursar’s Office at least a day before the training. You would advise the Bursar's Office to apply the fee to the Public Safety training account.

Public Safety Escorts to the Columbus Circle Subway Station

The Department of Public Safety provides regularly scheduled Public Safety escorts after evening classes.  Students, faculty, and staff who would like to utilize that service should arrive at the 10th Avenue (Haaren Hall) Public Safety desk by either 8:45 pm or 10:15 pm when officers will depart for the Columbus Circle subway station. 

This initiative is thanks to the Student Council and your Campus Security Advisory Committee members.

 

The Department of Public Safety office hours are as follows: 

Monday - Thursday: 9:00 a.m. – 11:00 p.m.
Fridays:  9:00 a.m. – 9:00 p.m.
Saturdays: 9:00 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Sundays: Closed (For non-emergencies, call 212-237-8524. For emergencies, call 212-237-8888)
 

Administrative Personnel

Diego Redondo

Director of Public Safety

212-237-8521

dredondo@jjay.cuny.edu

Isabelle Curro

Deputy Director

212-237-8529

icurro@jjay.cuny.edu

David Rivera

Assistant Director 

212-237-8525

drivera@jjay.cuny.edu

Lindsey Kayman

Director of Environmental Health and Safety

212-621-4117

lkayman@jjay.cuny.edu

Janet Winter Executive Assistant to Director 212-237-8626 jwinter@jjay.cuny.edu

 

Barbara Wala

Administrative Manager

212-237-8511

bwala@jjay.cuny.edu

Rabiyyah Williams Administrative Manager 212-484-1142 rwilliams@jjay.cuny.edu

Yaroslav Rogovoy

Security Systems and Fire Safety Specialist

212-237-8524

yrogovoy@jjay.cuny.edu

Constantinos
Katergaris

Campus Security Specialist

212-621-6454

ckatergaris@jjay.cuny.edu

Brian Backstrom

Campus Security Specialist

212-237-6488

bbackstrom@jjay.cuny.edu

Melvin Hilliard Campus Security Specialist 646-781-5217 mhilliard@jjay.cuny.edu
Mandy Lau Environmental Health & Safety Specialist 646-557-4625 mlau@jjay.cuny.edu
       

Jamal Cummings

Administrative Coordinator

212-393-6891

jcummings@jjay.cuny.edu

Quanessa Johnson

Administrative Coordinator

212-237-8427

qjohnson@jjay.cuny.edu

Ewelina Zajac

Administrative Coordinator

212-621-4112

ezajac@jjay.cuny.edu