About the Office for the Advancement of Research

About the Office for the Advancement of Research

The mission of the Office for the Advancement of Research is to promote scholarly activity, publication/performance of works, and grantsmanship at John Jay College. The Office works with key stakeholders, including faculty, Center directors, staff and administrators to disseminate this mission via workshops, one-on-one mentoring, collaboration, and internal programs aimed at professional development. Working with the Office of Sponsored Programs, which operates within OAR, the Office serves as a liaison and resource to faculty and staff submitting grants to federal, state, and private sources. The Office works with our Office of Marketing and Development to promote the scholarly mission of the College to the external research communities and the general public.

The Office of Sponsored Programs at John Jay College of Criminal Justice assists faculty and staff in securing external public and private funding for research, training, curriculum and program development. The Office has access to various databases and reference materials on funding sources. This information is made available to the college community on a continual basis. In addition, the Office works with faculty and staff in the development, submission and subsequent management of proposals. The Office also prepares and submits large proposals for institutionally based projects. One of the major responsibilities of the Office of Sponsored Programs is to interact with and serve as liaison to the Research Foundation of CUNY to assure the correct and timely processing of required documentation for funded projects.The Office of Sponsored Programs has played a major role in assisting faculty and staff in gaining external support for research and development projects. 

OAR oversees research compliance activities and provides education, training, and support for the John Jay community on Responsible Conduct of Research, the Human Research Protection Program (HRPP), Conflict of Interest, and Import/Export Control.

OAR Staff

Anthony Carpi - Associate Provost and Dean of Research

212.621.3735

acarpi@jjay.cuny.edu

Dan Stageman - Director of Research Operations

212.484.1367

dstageman@jjay.cuny.edu

Lynda Mules - Associate Director of Research Compliance

212.237.8914

lmules@jjay.cuny.edu

Sandra Rutherford - Assistant to the Dean of Research

212.484.1366

srutherford@jjay.cuny.edu

Laura Lutgen - Research Operations Assistant

646.557.4426

llutgen@jjay.cuny.edu

OSP Staff

Susy Mendes - Director of Sponsored Programs

212.237.8447

smendes@jjay.cuny.edu

Amrish Sugrim-Singh - Assistant Director of Sponsored Programs

212.237.8449

asugrim-singh@jjay.cuny.edu

Manelle Pyronneau - Grant Manager

646.557.4867

mypyronneau@jjay.cuny.edu

Cherryanne Ward - Grants Administrative Associate

212.621.3718

cward@jjay.cuny.edu

Jeannie Buxo - Administrative Assistant

646.557.4657

jbuxo@jjay.cuny.edu

 

 

.